Home Music artist Self-esteem crowned BBC Music featuring Artist of the Year 2021

Self-esteem crowned BBC Music featuring Artist of the Year 2021

0


Photo: Olivia Richardson

Self-Esteem has been crowned BBC Music Artist of the Year 2021.

The announcement comes as Rebecca Lucy Taylor prepares to release her second LP, “Prioritize Pleasure”, this Friday (October 22) via Fiction Records. Previously shared singles from the disc include Moody, How Can I Help You, I Do This All The Time, and the title track. Recognizing the award, she wrote in a Tweeter:

“I am SO HEATED. I have built self esteem from absolutely nothing and the introduction of the BBC has been fundamental in its growth. I am so overwhelmed and grateful. NEW MUSIC COUNTS. NEW VOICES COUNT. Thank you !!!! “

BBC Introducing is the British Broadcasting Company’s platform to help emerging talent launch their careers. Artists and groups can upload their music to the BBC’s intro website, some of which are selected to be broadcast on the radio.

The former Slow Club percussionist will hit the road for a tour of the UK and Ireland in November, with more dates on the agenda for next spring. Tickets are on sale.

The next dates for the Self-Esteem Tour are as follows

Mon 01 November 2021 – BRISTOL LA POLAIRE
Tue 02 November 2021 – NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE Wylam Brewery
Wed 03 November 2021 – CARDIFF Clwb Ifor Bach
Thu 04 November 2021 – OXFORD O2 Academy2 Oxford
Sat 06 November 2021 – EDINBURGH Bongo Club
Sun 07 November 2021 – GLASGOW Audio
Tue 09 November 2021 – DUBLIN Workmens Club
Wed 10 November 2021 – MANCHESTER Gorilla
Thu 11 November 2021 – LEEDS Belgrave Music Hall
Fri, November 12, 2021 – SHEFFIELD Leadmill
Sun November 14, 2021 – NORWICH Arts Center
Mon November 15, 2021 – READING Sub89
Tue November 16, 2021 – SOUTHAMPTON Joiners
Wed 17 November 2021 – LONDON Heaven
Fri 19 November 2021 – MARGATE Elsewhere
Sat 20 November 2021 – BRIGHTON Patterns
Tue 23 November 2021 – EXETER Phoenix Arts Center
Wed, November 24, 2021 – BIRMINGHAM Hare & Hounds
Thursday 25 November 2021 – NOTTINGHAM metronome
Mon February 28, 2022 – HUDDERSFIELD Parish
Tue 01 March 2022 – GLASGOW St Luke’s
Wed 02 Mar 2022 – LEEDS Leeds Uni Stylus
Thu 03 March 2022 – BRIGHTON Chalk
Fri 04 March 2022 – BRISTOL Bristol Trinity
Wed 23 March 2022 – MANCHESTER Manchester Cathedral
Thu 24 March 2022 – LONDON O2 Forum Kentish Town
Fri 25 March 2022 – SHEFFIELD Octagon

Compare and buy self-esteem tickets at Stereoboard.com.

Let us know what you think – leave a comment!

Related news